On giving thanks – 11.27

On November 27, 2011, I am thankful for my love story.

In November of 2004, I flew to Idaho to meet up with a boy for Thanksgiving with his family. For me, the whole trip was a great build-up towards goodbye. Despite the fun we had trouncing through the woods in camo and sneaking romantic moments by the fire, we were doomed to a future of long-distance romance, and that just wasn’t my thing.

In a last ditch attempt to win me over, he took me on a hike up the mountain to a cabin overlooking our hometown. I can’t remember what he said when we got there, but I remember how I felt – that was the day I fell in love.

2004. (don't we look like babies?!) Moments after this was taken, I told him we should just be friends.

When we kissed goodbye in the airport, I cried. I boarded the plane to the sounds of a sappy country love song blasting through my ear buds. I thought that was it for us.

Now its 2011. This week, I flew to Idaho to meet up with a boy for Thanksgiving with his family. For me, the whole trip has been a great build-up towards yet another goodbye. Despite the fun we had trouncing through the woods in camo and sneaking romantic moments by the fire, we are doomed to a future of long-distance romance, and it still isn’t my thing.

But the thing is, a couple of years ago, in a last ditch attempt to win me over for good, he took me on a hike up the mountain to a cabin overlooking our hometown. I can’t remember what he said, but I remember how I felt – that was the day we got engaged.

2008. Moments after this was taken, I told him I'd be his wife.

So when I kissed my husband goodbye at the airport this morning, I cried. I boarded the plane to the sounds of the same sappy country love song blasting through my ear buds. I know this is it for us.

And I’m thankful.

—–

(See all posts on giving thanks here.)

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “On giving thanks – 11.27”

  1. bridgetpitman says :

    my only regret of this moscow trip was not getting to spend more time with you both. miss you dearly jen. love this post.

Leave a Reply

