On giving thanks – 11.19

On November 19, 2011, I am thankful for me.

Yup, little ole me.

Allow me to explain.

In the interviews I did with women in Honduras, a lot of my participants talked about the importance of self-love, and of caring for oneself despite the many responsibilities one has to others. Here is one particularly striking quote that makes me smile every time I hear it:

It is sweet, to love oneself. It is the most lovely kind there is. Yes, its more beautiful than love from other people. Another person isn’t going to love me the same as I can love myself…We have to worry about our own selves, we have to love ourselves. Yes, beautiful, that’s what it is.

I think that loving ourselves is something we forget how to do. When I was little, I used to walk around with a tape recorder. I would narrate my life into that little Fisher Price microphone, singing songs, describing my stream-of-consciousness thoughts, and interviewing everyone who would talk to me (from my little sister to neighbors walking by the front yard). I was listening to those tapes a few years ago and remember being struck by the candor with which my little voice would pause, every so often, and exclaim, “You know what world? I love myself.”

I’ll probably never again have that kind of untempered self-confidence, but the woman I met in Honduras was right. It is sweet, to love oneself. And so for today, you know what world? I love myself.

And I’m thankful that me is who I am.

What are you thankful for?

—–

(See all posts on giving thanks here.)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

