On giving thanks – 11.15

On November 15, 2011, I am thankful for the birthday boy.

And today, the birthday boy is one Jim Garrett – my father-in-law.

I’m thankful for the weekly digest of big buck photos from the backyard trail cam that I receive during hunting season.

I’m thankful that we share a passion for college football and the colors blue and gold – even though those colors sometimes correspond to different teams, such as in the case of our shared all-time favorite game in the history of the sport – the 1989 Fiesta Bowl. (Remember – this is my blog and I get to say whatever I want.)

I’m thankful for the painstaking work he put into the hand-carved wooden details at our wedding, including my personal favorites – a tree stump cake stand and a gorgeous backyard horseshoe pit.

I’m thankful that I married someone who grew up with such a solid example of what it is to be a husband and father.

And perhaps most importantly, I’m thankful he coached me to achieving a life-long dream – catching a trout on a fly rod.

Happy birthday, JG!

What are you thankful for?

—–

(See all posts on giving thanks here.)

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “On giving thanks – 11.15”

  1. Jim Garrett says :

    I am never at a loss for words, blessed with the gift of gab (a real BSer), and now I don’t know what to say…….. I am thankful for daughters (in-law)….and if QB Major Harris had not suffered a separated shoulder on the game’s third play………..

Leave a Reply

