Words for October 6

The next passage in my journey is a love affair. I am in love with Montana. For other states I have admiration, respect, recognition, even some affection, with with Montana it is love, and it’s difficult to analyze love when you’re in it…It seems to me that Montana is a great splash of grandeur. The scale is huge but not overpowering. The land is rich with grass and color, and the mountains are the kind I would create if mountains were ever put on my agenda….But I see that as usual, love is inarticulate. Montana has a spell on me. It is grandeur and warmth. Of all the states it is my favorite and my love.

[John Steinbeck in Travels with Charley]

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Words for October 6”

  1. Jim Garrett says :

    Its got some pretty sweet trout water, too.

    “…and John, the chosen, was a dry fly fisherman.”

    • jennagarrett says :

      don’t even get me started on norman maclean montana quotes…but here’s one for the road: “The world is full of bastards, the number increasing rapidly the further one gets from Missoula, Montana.”

  2. bridgetpitman says :

    come back to Montana…we love you here.

  3. Jeannie Farmer says :

    I, too, am in love with Montana. A love affair that started May 20, 1958 and continues to this day. I live for the day that I can return there permanently. It’s in my blood, my heart, my mind and my soul. Maybe we can return together some day! Even burying my mother (your grandmother) was a beautiful thing being in Montana. It must be special if it can ease the pain of saying goodbye to precious Giggi! Thank you for being there. It means the world to me, really.

  4. Dad says :

    I don’t live there today…..but not one day goes by that my mind and heart don’t visit. I may never live there again but I will still be a Montanan in a way an “outsider” moving there from elsewhere may never be. Everything about me is rooted there and that can never be taken from me. I quote Steinbeck to everyone who asks me about Montana. It’s a wonderful description of an ethereal place but even Steinbeck’s words are at best inadequate. Montana truly must be experienced. Everyone finds the clear streams and the impressive grandeur of the Missions or the Bitterroots awe inspiring…..only a true believer can find the incredible beauty in the depths of the badlands or the bluffs overlooking cactus and sage brush. That you feel the pull of this grand cathedral speaks volumes about who you are. My pride in having played some small part in your development and my love of you know no bounds.

Leave a Reply

