On plans – part 2.

A while back, I wrote a post about plans – plans for the culmination of my master’s practicum, which would take place in southern Honduras. It was a bit gratifying to return home this week and re-read that post – though as expected, not all went according to plan…most of it actually did.

Reading my plans felt like reading the story of my time in Honduras before having actually lived it. My plans, expressed through my words, pretty accurately captured what happened – but they lack the color, vibrancy, and warmth of actually living it. Because they say a picture is worth a thousand words….I invite you to re-read the post with me – but this time, with photos, which tell the story far better than I ever could.

Friday, June 24: Don a green bridesmaid dress, walk down the aisle, pose for photos in the eternal Alaskan twilight, eat some wedding cake, and dance the night away at my brother-in-law’s wedding in Anchorage (perhaps only slightly reliving my own wedding almost exactly one year prior.)

I have few pictures of the wedding at this point - but here is a special moment just days before...hiking Hatcher Pass (north of Anchorage) with my hubby in celebration of our 1 year anniversary.

Saturday, June 25: Wake up, wash the smeared makeup from my face and the crusty hairspray from my hair, and board a plane bound for Tegucigalpa, Honduras. Enter the twilight zone of 30+ hours of travel from the far reaches of the inhabitable northern hemisphere to the sweltering jungle that is Central America.

There is no photo of the twilight zone. But I did really enjoy my mimosa and spinach salad in First Class.

Sunday, June 26: Arrive in Tegucigalpa. Ride in a careening taxi through the noise, dirt, and energy of urban Honduras. Sleep off the travel and perhaps, if I’m lucky, meet up with a fellow HBHE at the local Applebee’s (yes, there is an Applebee’s in Tegus. I wonder if their Sizzling Smokehouse Chicken Stack is up to par…)

Jet lag and responsibilities kept me from venturing to Applebee's...but look who came and found me at my lovely Tegus B&B. We bonded and caught up over Pizza Hut delivery pies and 100% Deet.

Monday, June 27: Board a bus and head 5 hours south toward El Corpus with a group of 16 other UNC medical and public health students. I’m sure the first thing I’ll do when I arrive is give my 7-year-old friend Samantha a big abrazo and share a chocobanana, then we’ll all settle in and meet our host families. HHA gives health education talks (charlas) on nutrition, family planning, sexual health, and gender-based violence, so I will spend the first couple of days leading a training for the medical students in preparation for presenting the charla material.

Teaching a practice charla to the women of El Corpus...this astute group of US medical students and Honduran women have correctly identified the proper way steps of putting on a condom.

 

Thursday, June 30: Head for the hills. Our group of 17 will split into groups of 2-3 to head out to the rural communities HHA exists to serve. Although El Corpus itself is a small, sleepy village, it does enjoy the modern conveniences of electricity, spotty running water, cobblestone roads, and a school, several churches, and even a baseball field. We will travel by bus, burro (donkey), and foot to small communities that lack all of these things. There we will stay with the local health promoters (lay health advisers who voluntarily serve their community’s health needs as best they can) and spend several days presenting charlas to the women who live in the communities. I will be traveling to Los Terreros, the most far-flung but largest community, and in addition to charlas, will be conducting in-depth interviews with the women as a part of my qualitative research project for my practicum.

This is where plans diverged a bit...due to fits of nausea and fever that kept me horizontal for 3 days, I did not head for the hills...watching laundry dry from my hammock was about all I had energy for.

 

Monday, July 4: Clinic begins! We will wake up before dawn, board Pedro’s pickup truck, and make the 45-minute journey to Madrigales for clinic each morning. Each day of the week is designated for one of the communities we visited the week before, and women from the assigned community will travel to Madrigales each day to visit the clinic – for many of them, the only time they will see a doctor all year. Women will receive pap smears, family planning services (including a year’s supply of the pill, male/female condoms, and even IUD’s for those who choose), and diagnosing/treatment for STI’s and other gynecological problems. Our makeshift clinic will be set up in a community center, and we will see up to 80 women per day.

The crew on Pedro's truck outside the clinic.

 

Saturday, July 9: On the final day of clinic, we will travel beyond Madrigales to Los Terreros – the community I will have visited the week before. Because it is so far and so many women live there, HHA comes to them and sets up clinic in the local school house.

An exam room in our Los Torreros clinic.

 

Sunday, July 10: After an exhausting couple of weeks, we will have a couple of days to kill. The samples from the pap smears conducted in clinic will be sent to the Planned Parenthood affiliate (ASHONPLAFA) in Choluteca, the nearest city, to be analyzed. In the meantime, our group will spend some time there to check email (it may be our first access to internet since leaving Tegus), enjoy some American fare (ahem, Wendy’s), and air conditioning. We will also likely tour ASHONPLAFA or the HIV testing facility to get a sense of healthcare in slightly more urban Honduras.

Our 2 hour ride to Choluteca in the back of the truck took us through a wicked lightning storm...this is the last photo snapped before the skies really opened up.

 

Tuesday, July 12: We will return to El Corpus and on to Madrigales to assist with some improvements to the building that we use for the clinic – over the past few years, the roof has slowly given out – making clinic very difficult to maintain given that we visit during July, the rainy season in this part of Honduras. We will also hold a small conference for the village health promoters, in which Amy (my travel buddy from March) will present the findings of her research and discuss ways that we can better support and/or train the village health promoters in health care provision for their communities.

Amy and I with the community health promoters at the 2011 Health Promoter's Conference.

I also found some time to climb this mountain - story to be told in a forthcoming post.

Thursday, July 14: The final step for us will be to return to the communities we visited at the beginning of the trip with the women’s pap smear results in hand. Rather than asking hundreds of women to make the grueling journey to return to us to receive their results, we will come to them. For women who need follow-up care, we will leave funds with the local health promoter that will pay for the women’s travel to Choluteca to receive the needed services from ASHONPLAFA. When they do make the journey there for their follow-up visit, HHA will cover the cost of their care.

On results day, I took some time to visit some friends I made back in March. I love this shot of us.

Saturday, July 16: Return to El Corpus for a final night of celebrating the end of our project. I’m sure many tearful goodbyes will be said (and many chocobananas eaten).

With my host family at our farewell fiesta - Juana, Samantha, Pedro, and Andrea.

Sunday July 17: Back to Tegus, back to the States…and on to the next adventure!

So there you have it. Our plans, and how they turned out. We planned. We saw 300 women in our clinic. We learned. We grew. I’ll attempt to share more details about  how things actually went down in the coming weeks…but for now, to celebrate plans and how they sometimes actually work out.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “On plans – part 2.”

  1. Jeannie says :

    This is great, Jenna. I love the photos and seeing you “in action”. Love the one of you talking to the 2 lady friends and the one of your host family. You look so happy! I am so proud of you and can’t wait to really talk to you about your experiences. Love you! MOM

Leave a Reply

